Six South County Teachers Are in the Hunt for Teacher of the Year 2014-15

Congratulations to the following South County teachers who were named as part of a group of 53 public school teachers and three private school teachers as Anne Arundel County candidates for Teacher of the Year:

Anne Arundel County's current Teacher of the Year is Jodie Hogan. Five candidates for 2014-15 Teacher of the Year come from South County schools.

Anne Arundel County’s current (2013-14)  Teacher of the Year is Jodie Hogan, a Spanish teacher at South River High School. Six candidates for 2014-15 Teacher of the Year come from South County schools.


  • Julie Castillo, Lothian Elementary School
  • Dianne Lloyd, Davidsonville Elementary School
  • Patricia Medeiros, Tracey’s Elementary School
  • Jane Newton, Southern Middle School
  • Melissa Norwood, Southern High School
  • Colette Preis, Central Special School


 The remaining teachers are listed at the bottom of this story.

These educators will be honored at the 28th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum in April of 2014. At that time, the Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year will be announced. The current Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year is Jodie Hogan, a Spanish teacher at South River High School.

The Excellence in Education banquet will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county.

“We have incredible teachers in front of our children across this county every single day, and it is important that we take time to honor their dedication, passion, and service,” Interim Superintendent Mamie J. Perkins said. “I am very much looking forward to saluting this great group of educators.”

The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition. Here are the Teacher of the Year nominees from other parts of the county:


  • Lyniper Al-Os, Annapolis High School
  • Kenneth Baker, Bodkin Elementary School
  • Michelle April Ballenger, Georgetown East Elementary School
  • Rebecca Bittman, North County High School
  • Jane Bounelis, Arnold Elementary School
  • Brad Bower, Crofton Middle School
  • Alyson Bradford, Odenton Elementary School
  • Shannon Brown, Jones Elementary School
  • Jamie Chestnut, Oakwood Elementary School
  • David A. Christopher, Old Mill Middle School North
  • Laura Christopher, Brooklyn Park Elementary School
  • Julie Ciotola, Glendale Elementary School
  • Carol Cox, George T. Cromwell Elementary School
  • Michael Cservek, Severna Park Middle School
  • Allison Ellis, Glen Burnie High School
  • Damian Ferragamo, Old Mill High School
  • Jennifer Figueroa, Chesapeake High School
  • Rachel Fitzgerald, Marley Middle School
  • Joanne Francis, Severn River Middle School
  • Vanessa Gilbert, Freetown Elementary School
  • Susan Grieve, Folger McKinsey Elementary School
  • Lindsey Hammond, Quarterfield Elementary School
  • Rose Catharine Hammond, Ruth Parker Eason Special School
  • Linsey Haughton, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Hewitt, Jessup Elementary School
  • Jessica Howell, Manor View Elementary School
  • Christina Houstian, Broadneck High School
  • Stacy Kearns, Corkran Middle School
  • Eileen Keck, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
  • Rachel Long, Wiley H. Bates Middle School
  • Suzanne MacLeod, Linthicum Elementary School
  • Jill Manning, Mary Moss Academy
  • Robert Mauro, Lindale Middle School
  • Cynthia McNeel Jacoby, Severna Park Elementary School
  • Amanda Mays, Lake Shore Elementary School
  • Jennifer Suzanne Mobley, Mayo Elementary School
  • Amy Mueller, Marley Elementary School
  • Jessica Nolan, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Rebecca Pope, Crofton Elementary School
  • Susan Marie Sheehy, Millersville Elementary School
  • Jennifer Swiech, Meade Middle School
  • Benjamin  Thompson, George Fox Middle School
  • Stacey Walczak, Seven Oaks Elementary School
  • Sherise Webb, North Glen Elementary School
  • Joshua Webster, Solley Elementary School
  • Jacqueline Wilford, Northeast High School
  • Brad Wray, Arundel High School


The following private school teachers have been nominated by their schools and school communities:



Semifinalists from the field of 53 public school nominees will be announced next week. From that group, five finalists will be chosen.

Business partnership nominations can be found at

Tickets for the event are $55 each.  For sponsorship information and ticket orders, visit For other information, please call 410-266-3960.


Enhanced by Zemanta
Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

About Mitchelle Stephenson

I've gotta tell Mitchelle! Send your South County news tips, brag on your fab volunteers, talk traffic, police and fire or just say "howdy" to Mitchelle Stephenson, co-founding editor of the South River Source. or reach me in person on mobile: 410-353-4706.

Comments are closed.

Our weather forecast is from Wordpress Weather

%d bloggers like this: