Students Honored at a Tribute to Women of Color Event

From Anne Arundel County Schools spokesman Bob Mosier:

Recognizing the focus and ambition it takes to be successful academic achievers and community contributors, the A Tribute to Women of Color (ATWOC) organization will honor the work of 31 young men and men from across the county at its 21st annual awards luncheon on Saturday, March 1, 2014, at the La Fontaine Bleue in Glen Burnie.AACPS1

More than 140 students applied for this year’s Future Leader Awards, which are designed to encourage and inspire high school students with minority heritage who show potential to continue their roles as student leaders.

“I am always proud of the support given to our young people by the community,” Interim Superintendent of Schools Mamie J. Perkins said. “So many of our children are working hard and have so much talent. They deserve these opportunities and the encouragement to reach their goals.”

Varying from monetary gifts from community organizations and private donors or scholarships by Morgan State University, specific awards will be revealed at the luncheon.

Representing all 12 comprehensive county public high schools, this year’s A Tribute to Women of Color Future Leader Award recipients are:

  • Diamond Battle, South River High School
  • Amber Spriggs, Southern High School
  • Alexander Walters, Southern High School
  • Tess Alexander, Northeast High School
  • Averi Ayala-Ridgeway, Meade High School
  • David Blackstone, Annapolis High School (class of 2013)
  • Desmon Bright, North County High School
  • Avery Brown II, Old Mill High School
  • Juan Brown, Annapolis High School
  • Kiara Calhoun-Shearn, Northeast High School
  • Danae Cannedy, Glen Burnie High School
  • Dequan Davis, Northeast High School
  • Kyle Dougan, Chesapeake High School
  • Arielle Fletcher, Old Mill High School
  • Eduardo Gamiz-Chaparro, Old Mill High School
  • Daniel Giles, Severna Park High School
  • Shirley Green, North County High School
  • Jevian Gudger, Meade High School
  • Keonté Henson, Broadneck High School
  • Dakarai Huntley, Northeast High School
  • Asia Jenkins, Arundel High School
  • Aria Jones, Old Mill High School
  • Kierra McKnight, Arundel High School
  • Anthony Mitchell, Annapolis High School
  • Brayaun Mullen, North County High School
  • Khadijah Nesbitt, Old Mill High School
  • Raichele Privette, Annapolis High School
  • Nisha Seebachan, Annapolis High School
  • Tracee Simms, Glen Burnie High School (class of 2013)
  • Rio Tate, Meade High School
  • Tayler Watkins, Meade High School

The luncheon also honors women called “unsung heroines” who have significantly created social change through their efforts.  Tickets for the event, which begins at 11 a.m., are $40.  Proceeds from the event directly benefit the awards program. For ticket information, call 410-761-2850.


Enhanced by Zemanta
Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

About Mitchelle Stephenson

I've gotta tell Mitchelle! Send your South County news tips, brag on your fab volunteers, talk traffic, police and fire or just say "howdy" to Mitchelle Stephenson, co-founding editor of the South River Source. or reach me in person on mobile: 410-353-4706.


  1. CAT South Students Among Those to Earn Spot at SkillsUSA Maryland Competition | South River Source - February 25, 2014

    […] Students Honored at a Tribute to Women of Color Event ( […]

Weather forecast by WP Wunderground & Denver Snow Service

%d bloggers like this: